Birthdays June
Batcho, Mary Lou Greathouse, Ruby Pervall, Ilene
Beckelhimer, Robert Harrington, Dorothy Pugh, Bonnie
Benzo, Janet Hitzfeld, Jean Reckner, Franklin
Call, Clara Jonczak, Florence Robertson, Marlene
Canella, Antonia Jonczak, John Rogers, Shirlie
Cross, Gerry Keister, Judy A. Rogerson, Mary
Dalrymple, Susie Kocher, William Sacripanti, Mary
Davis, Chelsea Kohen, Helen M. Sampson, Susan
Demaria, Sharlee Lamp, Linda Smedley, Myrtle
Demaria, James Lynn, Carol Stiles, Jackie
DiGregoria, Beth McColloch, Terence Swiger, Virgie
Dobbins, Judy J. Meriwether, Jeannette Tice, Kim
Dunope, Helen Michel, Rose Vanhorn, Sandy
Flowers, Myrtle Mills, Charlotte Virtue, June
Gilkey, Veronica Mitchell, Carol E. Wagoner, Pat
Goldsmith, Patricia Moren, Helen Welsh, Frances

To get your newsletter in hard copy, call 304.527.3410 

NOTICE: new shorter emails and website address: web:


Click to Register your Kroger Plus Card online to help RSVP.         

If you need help call 304.527.3410 and we’ll walk you through.  Select Ohio, enroll at the store you shop and select Charity Organization Name:   BROOKE COUNTY COMMITTEE ON AGING RSVP Organization Number: 83852 (No Computer? Call the office and we’ll send you a barcode to contribute)  Just need to use your card to contribute!  IT’S EASY!

Shop online at  iGive to help RSVP.  26% goes to RSVP with tax deduction

ASAP needs your help...

Stop by the Brooke County Senior Center and view the ASAP Art Exhibit and vote for your favorite three paintings.  Display ends June 7, 2010.  Stop in and welcome the new AmeriCorps VISTA, Ashley Gregorash.



"The Weirton Area Ambulance and Rescue Squad would like to stress to individuals how important it is to have and use the "File of Life" system.  The "File of Life" allows individuals to input recent medical history and list important information such as family doctor, preferred hospital, allergies, insurance, medications and more.  It allows the patient to answer questions on paper through the "File of Life" for emergency responders in the event the information cannot be acquired verbally.  The Paramedics and EMT's of the Weirton Area Ambulance and Rescue Squad use this very important life saving information to provide the best patient care possible for you or your family member.  Please keep the File of Life updated with most current medications and medical history," per Eric Zaney, Executive Director Weirton Ambulance Service.

Big Top Hoe-Down Wednesday, June 2, 2010 at Hancock County Senior Wellness Center, for details contact Hank Vincent. 304.564.3801

  Rocky Kilonsky, Clara Call, Martie Iannucci, Fonda Cutrone, Bill Anderson and Carol Jackson

2010 RSVP Volunteer Recognition
RSVP volunteers were recognized for hours served and years of service.  Overbrook Quilters and Weirton Senior Center were honored for their outstanding continued support of the RSVP program.  The Donna Weaver Shinning Star Award was presented to Mrs. Maggie Stewart for her outstanding service.  This volunteer recognition was made successful by the donations from area businesses. Clips from the RSVP 37th Annual Volunteer Recognition may be viewed at:
Special thanks to all RSVP Advisory Council Committees who helped make the RSVP Volunteer Recognition luncheon a success.

Also special thanks to presenters:
Congressman Alan B. Mollohan
Presidential Lifetime Service Awards
Senator Edwin Bowman &
Senator Jack Yost
Senators Recognition
Delegates Tim Ennis and Roy Givens
Legislative Citation
Michelle Figaretti Regional Representative
Governor Joe Manchin III Recognition
Kristin Cross Field Representative
State Auditor Glen B Gainer III Recognition

Special thanks to Guest Speaker: John Shaw, Project Manager National Council on Aging.

Hattie Adams was recognized on May 28, 2010 for the annual Robert W. Jackson Distinguished Service Award in honor of meritorious contributions of an individual committed to enhancing the quality of life for older West Virginians.

Special Thanks to: Senator Edwin Bowman,  Senator Jack Yost, Delegate Tim Ennis, Delegate Roy Givens, Governor Joe Manchin III and Brooke County Commission for the Governor's Community Participation Grant Award.  THANK YOU!

Special Thanks

Volunteers who assisted with City of Follansbee beautification, planting an estimated 200 flowers and painting plaza area. 

Janet Benzo, Ann Berardi, Jim Brooks, Helen Dunope, Margaret Freshwater, Jean Irvin, Bill Lantz, Tom McBride, Maurine Marsh, Josephine Patrone, Susan Sampson, Rae Tate, Hank and Derek Vincent and Antionette Wilkerson.

Thanks to drivers, Andre’ Landy, Hank Vincent and tour guide Fonda Cutrone for a great trip to Sugarcreek! Welcome Fonda Cutrone and Martie Iannucci to the RSVP trip committee.

RSVP is planning a trip to Charleston on September 22, 2010 in honor of Senior Corps Week, details to come......Let us know if you would be interested in representing your county...and if you would like to stay overnight give some ideas to Fonda or Martie of where you would like to stay!

© Copyright 2005-2007